Thinking about going full paleo….

While I’m cutting out gluten, and we have officially broken up, I’m still feeling rundown and crappy most days.  I wake up incredibly tired, with aches and pains.  I don’t have my arms falling asleep every night but I still have a very restless experience, relying on Ambien most nights. I sit my fat ass in a chair at the computer all day for work. I just feel dumpy, lethargic, slow, no energy and sucky most days.

Yesterday I was all over the Paleo Parents blog.  Stacy freakin’ rocks! What an inspiration! She put it all out there…and I mean ALL lol. It’s really funny how we chose to see ourselves and those close to us. I was going through Stacy’s blog post with my wife and I said “I look like that! My belly hangs like that!” and her response was complete denial of this fact. Granted, I’m only 167 lbs, but I have a gut, I’m only 5 feet tall. Most of my friends have one too and we have ALL struggled to get healthier. Getting healthier cannot only mean eating right. I have hidden behind this for too long; so have my friends. You have to have some level of physical exertion + eating better to be successful. Especially when you weigh as much as I have in the past (240 at my highest), and do now, and as much as many around me do!  We are ALL in denial on some level. Stacy fucking did it! And she was 336 lbs when she started…and now she looks amazing but more importantly she FEELS amazing!

The running joke is that I am allergic to the e word…exercise lol. Well, guess what? In order to FEEL better part of what I have to do is get off my lazy, fat ass and just do the damn thing.  Don’t get offended that I call myself a fat ass! It’s TRUTH! Remember, I don’t coddle! Not even with myself…a spade is a spade is a spade. If you complain to me, I will tell it like it is.  My main intention is to FEEL GREAT most days. By doing so I know I will lose weight in the process…it’s common sense.

I know that I have emotional highs from eating sugar and carbs. It’s like a drug…I guess from everything I have read, it really IS a drug to our bodies and minds. I am addicted to Coke Zero. I call it crack in a can, SMH. I go days without drinking water sometimes…so gross, right? So I know purging and detoxing this stuff is going to be necessary at some point in this process. I’m just not looking forward to the withdrawal 😦

What prompted all this BEFORE I obsessed about and aptly stalked the Paleo Parents blog? Well, we try to eat “paleo like” quite often. If I could just get over my fucking bread obsession we’d be pretty successful at it, I think.  Sunday’s dinner consisted of a great steak, grilled with scallions. Simple! It’s one of our favorite go to meals.

I let the steaks come to room temp, drizzle a little coconut oil on them, season with garlic, black pepper, sea salt, paprika, white pepper, and ground mustard, and we grill them, depending on how thick, for about 5 minutes a side. Wonderfully medium 🙂 The grilled scallions are seasoned with a little salt and pepper.

Here are some pics:

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

I think we can do this paleo stuff and be successful!  I need to remind myself to take baby steps so I don’t set myself up for failure. I will make that damn white bread first however!

Xo,

TJ

 

7 thoughts on “Thinking about going full paleo….

  1. Good luck! I’ve been trying to get back into an exercise routine but it’s HARD once you get stuck in a rut of not exercising.

  2. Baby steps for sure! Back in the day when I used to work out (called pre kids) I’d always screw myself by setting these impossible goals too soon, like working out every day, ha! Or even every other day!

    Also helps to figure out which exercise you hate the least 🙂 like swimming instead of treadmilling, or vice versa.

    Good luck and let me know how that bread turns out first!
    -Dana

    • I think that’s very smart…do the exercise you love doing! I’ve always overwhelmed myself with impossible exercise routines that I just can’t be successful at. For me honestly, just getting outside and moving would be a HUGE improvement lol There’s a gym here at work that I should take advantage of! I like listening to my iPod and being on the treadmill. That I can do 🙂

Leave a Reply

